The Reason to Write Project

Dear JOME followers and readers. I thought you might help me while I test the waters of my thoughts.

I am formulating a plan for this semester’s (not holiday, you Swedes, school term) project for the Masters in Professional Writing course. It requires several levels of thought and action.

Clearly Writing is my pen name for the launch of the fiction writer known to you as Journey of Mixed Emotions (aka Amanda Wood). I discovered something about myself over the last 6 months of the professional writer’s course – if I have an assignment, a goal, a deadline, I write fiction stories. If I have a break and no reason to write, I don’t.

Hence the title of this project. The idea is that I will collate and locate all the potential magazines and online places where I could possibly submit writing. It might be fiction, poetry, or nonfiction, but that is OK because I am a generalist. I hope to focus in the long term with some kind of style or genre but it has not become clear to me yet.

Some of these submissions will require me to pay money, some will take a long time to come to fruition, if they ever do. Some will not pay money, but I will be published, or rejected.

How Many Rejections Can I Get?

And that is the second half of my plan, to collect rejection letters, emails and “slips”. Yes, you read it correctly. This part of the project is inspired by Stephen King’s book On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft. In this amazing book, he discusses his evolution into a writer. He writes about all the rejection slips he collected from a young age, and how many of the little handwritten notes from random editors inspired and guided him. This piece of information sticks in my mind.

I am not a teenager. I only have 1 rejection slip to my name (fiction writing, that is). I need to have a reason to write, and I need to become brave and accepting of rejection.

To be Published is the Goal

And if I have these deadlines and topics on a schedule, I will probably meet some of the criteria, so I might get published, too. Which would be nice of course.

Other key advice from Stephen (I hope I can call him Stephen, he inspired me today so much)  is applicable to this project as well. To write for the sake of writing, not for money. I don’t need money, I have a full time job. I have debts to pay, so yes, it would be cool to be able to get into the black again (have I ever been in the black…hmmmm). But it is not important to me. I took a mortgage out on my life by going back to school, back in the 1990s and now in 2014.

I just need a Reason to Write, and I think I found it.

Thoughts Ideas Suggestions Welcome

I need to submit a draft media plan including mission statements and so forth by Monday June 30th, but it always a work in progress. I have posted on this blog because I want to include you, dear reader, in my journey. However, the plan is to document this journey on the Clearly Writing site since I won’t be able to publish the stories themselves (usually a strict requirement for submissions).

7 thoughts on “The Reason to Write Project

  1. I took this post as a solicitation for assistance but am not really clear on what you would like from your readers. If part of what you seek is suggested places to submit writing online then I can suggest a place that accepts unsolicited writing – and as such, has resulted in my own writing being published on the internet. The place to which I refer is IMDB.com.

    At the Internet Movie Data Base website anyone with an account can submit reviews of motion pictures. While this may be outside the scope of your preferred writing style I recommend the experience as a great exercise in creative writing.

    I mostly review obscure films made by independent filmmakers as they are more apt to provide feedback and they very often have few if any published reviews attached to their projects.

    I find it a challenge to convey the essence of a film in a few paragraphs in such a way that does not give away or spoil the story yet attempts to emote a similar response from the reader.

    All submissions are reviewed and approved prior to publication. However, I cannot imagine anyone getting rejected that submitted a coherent piece.

    So there’s a comment to perhaps get the ball rolling 😉

    • Hello dear IR.

      This is a very timely suggestion as I am potentially thinking of becoming a screen writer. I love movies and have been an avid IMDB’r for years, since its inception.

      Thanks for the idea, it works nicely into my media plan.

  2. Pingback: Street Smoker’s Sidle | Clearly Writing

  3. It just occurred to me that I once came across a literary review site that might be of interest to you in your project. Have you ever heard of The Lascaux Review? [ http://lascauxreview.com/ ]

    Quote From Their “About” Page:

    “The Lascaux Review provides a showcase for emerging and established writers and artists. Lascaux (rhymes with “Bordeaux”) seeks stories, poems, essays, book excerpts, and works of art that share a message and have a broad appeal.

    Annual contests are conducted in flash fiction, short fiction, and poetry; see the Contests page for more information. The 2014 Lascaux Prize in Poetry contest is presently open for submissions; the prize is $1000, the deadline is 23 September.

    Lascaux nominates work for the Pushcart Prize, Best of the Net, and other awards. In 2014 the Review will host the inaugural Christine E. Eldin Memorial Prize for middle grade novels.

    Stephen Parrish – Editor …”

    I once re-blogged an article by Stephen Parrish ( http://blogdogit.com/article.php?story=20111205082258490 ) which is how I came to learn of The Lascaux Review – The light bulb went off for me today as I was reading your “Searching for Reasons” blog. Best wishes, Amanda!

    masodo

    • You bet, I learned about them during this research. In fact, I am going to probably talk about Duotrope and Submittable on Friday, to highlight the various technology available. Thanks as always for the tip.

Leave a Reply

