Loving Words

Forget Elephants, I have the Vocabulary of a Goat

I really love words. It’s unfortunate I am forgetting so many.

It happens to the best of us. It can be caused by the onset of dementia, growing old, too much information in your brain, or it may be self inflicted…as it is for me.

I moved to a foreign country where English is not the official language.

Any expat experiences the same thing the longer you are not exposed on a daily basis to your primary language. Even if you watch movies or TV, read books, or newspapers, listen to podcasts, it is remarkable how many words escape you when prompted.

I work as a Technical Writer in English. I am doing a Masters in Professional Writing, I write blogs in English, I speak English with most of my colleagues and friends. So when I stumble to answer the inevitable question “what’s another word for [insert noun or verb]” I get frustrated with myself.

Of course I do spend a lot of time taking pictures of animals on the farm instead of conversing with the intellects of Sweden. A short term memory solution is to browse the dictionary for words.

The Goats of Stafsund.

The Goats of Stafsund.

Flexing My Words

It has been a while since I did a favourite words post. Check out My Favorite Words Part I and My Favourite Words Part II.

The following are words I primarily like the sound of, but often the meaning is great too. All the links take you to Dictionary.com

  • anapest – a foot of three syllables, two short followed by one long in quantitative meter, and two unstressed followed by one stressed in accentual meter, as in for the nonce.
    I like how this word is a bit of a pest…and that relates a lot to its meaning.
  • superfluous – being more than is sufficient or required; excessive.
    Just a great word to say. 
  • verbiageoverabundance or superfluity of words, as in writing or speech; wordiness; verbosity.
    Over use of words, needing triage is how I think of it.
  • lackadaisicalwithout interest, vigour, or determination; listless; lethargic
    I always think of clowns when I use this word.
  • bombinate: to buzz, hum, or drone.
    A word that could be used in so many other creative ways.

Here is a word that Dictionary.com could not handle. But Wikipedia had an answer:

  • paraprosdokians is a figure of speech in which the latter part of a sentence or phrase is surprising or unexpected in a way that causes the reader or listener to re-frame or re-interpret the first part. It is frequently used for humorous or dramatic effect. For this reason, it is extremely popular among comedians and satirists.

There are plenty of sites with examples, here is one Alpha Dictionary.

Clearly Writing

If you want to experience some words in sentences and short stories, check out my new blog, Clearly Writing.

Spread the Words

Spread the Words

One thought on “Loving Words

Leave a Reply

