A Clowder of Cats at Stafsund. Warning! Cute Kittens

A Clowder is Born

I belong to two cats, Tio and Desoto. Recently, a third cat, Boris, applied for residency in our home (Spring into Stafsund: Comfort of Creatures). After consideration, it was granted since I got him neutered (Wrapping Cats Instead of Presents) and he turns out to be one big, cuddly, sweet, boy. This means I officially have 3 cats;  a clowder.

Yum. Kittens.

Yum. Kittens.

Uncle Uncle!

Uncle Uncle!

It wasn't me.

It wasn’t me.

Chica is a Naughty Girl

Boris’ sister/daughter/mom, who I call Chica, was a naughty girl sometime in March.

I steal pizza crusts.

I steal pizza crusts.

Shrimp Tossing

In late May, Chica gave birth to some kittens. For two months, on and off, we have searched for them, while I continued to feed Chica (expensive food). About a month ago I presumed the little ones had not made it. Then I got a text from another farm resident who told me they saw 5 in the barn below our house. Two weeks later, yesterday, I saw 4 kittens for the first time. Today a friend and I threw shrimp at them to begin their conditioning.

Private Animal Rescue

The goal is to have them all spayed/neutered, including mom, and then find homes for the kittens. Mom will stay here on the farm, along with Uncle Boris, Uncle Desoto, and Uncle Tio. (BTW. Tio means uncle in Spanish, so Tio is now Uncle! Uncle!). It is going to cost a lot and be a challenge to catch them, but today was a great start.

A Cornucopia of Kittens

I can confirm the sighting of 4 kittens. Two gray, 1 black, and 1 gray and white. Only three came out to play today and take part in their first photo shoot (that was in focus that is!).

I am the bravest kitten. I was the first to come forward and eat that little pink thing you threw at me.

I am the bravest kitten. I was the first to come forward and eat that little pink thing you threw at me.

I am brave too! And I am very spry.

I am brave too! And I am very spry.

What about me? I may not be the bravest, but I look like Uncle Tio.

What about me? I may not be the bravest, but I look like Uncle Tio.

DSC_0444

Feed me? And call me Sprite.

Feed me? And call me Sprite.

Mom, I have a question...

Mom, I have a question…

Hanging out by the front door

Hanging out by the front door

DSC_0443

More please!

More please!

10 thoughts on “A Clowder of Cats at Stafsund. Warning! Cute Kittens

  1. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww. 😀 You should have warned me. Smiles
    I was coming home from the store the other day and there is an old clapboard church around the corner, and there were a couple of kittens playing in the high grass next to the church. They looked healthy and happy. BUT I was like ” keep going Sherry!” Way too cute!

  2. Awwww too cute!! You have such a big heart my friend. Good luck with the socialization and adoption process! Let us know how it all goes….

Leave a Reply

