Nova Scotia: Lunenburg and Ovens Natural Park

I am still hanging out in Nova Scotia, a little baffled by the SPAM and toilet gnomes. Yesterday I rented a car [for me it feels more like a car beast although I like being up high and it is a 2013…I have not driven such a new car, ever!]. I decided to go back to Lunenburg for a short stay and then I went to one of my other favorite places, the Ovens Natural Park, a privately owned campground with sea caves and a trail along the beautiful shale cliffs of the south shore of Nova Scotia.

Lunenburg

Lunenburg from Masons Beach Drive

Lunenburg from Masons Beach Drive
Lunenburg, Nova Scotia is a UNESCO World Heritage Site

Lunenburg, Nova Scotia is a UNESCO World Heritage Site

 [The UNESCO] designation ensures protection for much of Lunenburg’s unique architecture and civic design, being the best example of planned British colonial settlement in North America (source: Wikipedia).

Bluenose II

I wanted to go on the Bluenose II. I was here with C in 2010 and they had just taken her out of the water to continue with the restoration. It said on the highway sign I saw on my way here that she was in port. And yes, she is. I am disappointed even though I saw her crew coming back from lunch, so something is about to happen, just not likely while I am here.

The website indicated that she would be sailing by this year:

After sea trials and testing, Bluenose II will be officially returned to the province of Nova Scotia. By 2013, the vessel will resume a full schedule of sailing.

Sad face.

Bluenose II, restored? Ready to rock and roll on the seas?

Bluenose II, restored? Ready to rock and roll on the seas?

Blue Rocks

This morning was foggy and cold but I took a short drive to Blue Rocks…quintessential Nova Scotia fishing village.

Blue Rocks, part of Lunenburg area. Quintessential fishing scenery

Blue Rocks, part of Lunenburg area. Quintessential fishing scenery

Blue Rocks is "Lunenburg's answer to Peggy's Cove"

Blue Rocks is “Lunenburg’s answer to Peggy’s Cove”

Fishing boats, and apparently the best kayaking spots.

Fishing boats, and apparently one of the best kayaking spots.

The Ovens Natural Park

I have vague memories of Ovens Natural Park from when I was young and it still has some kind of magical hold over me. I only have to see its cliff face for it to feel like I came home and I am comforted to hear the ocean and smell the pine trees; I could listen to its voice all day. No matter how many years between visits, I will always love Ovens. I know I we will see each other again, but it is a bittersweet visit today as I don’t know when I shall return.

Ovens Natural Park

Ovens Natural Park

Stark beauty of Thunder Cave

Stark beauty of Thunder Cave

Amazing shale cliffs

Amazing shale cliffs

Sea cave at Ovens Natural Park

Sea cave at Ovens Natural Park

8 thoughts on “Nova Scotia: Lunenburg and Ovens Natural Park

  1. Great post Amanda! Thanks for the virtual vacation… so very nice of you to think of us in the face of such wonderful sights. I now miss Nova Scotia and yet I have never been there (perhaps some day…)

Leave a Reply

