Spam, Toilet Gnomes, and Tim Hortons

Bonjour allihop! I am in the land of Canucks, hockey, toques, and Tim Hortons. Oh, and donairs, and many other things I have long forgotten.

I woke at 530 this morning and decided to take a walk down the hill to Timmy Ho’s. I did not have my camera, so these images are from my phone, but it all quite amused me today.

The first thing I found this morning when opening the cupboard looking for a glass, was this tin of Spam, the original.

I do not like or eat Spam, and there is a reason the word was adopted by the Internet community to describe annoying and unwanted emails sent and manufactured randomly from unknown parts. But gee, I guess someone likes this stuff if it has survived over 75 years on market shelves!

Ewwww. And this is from last year.

Ewwww. And this is from last year.

As a wandered down the hill towards wifi and coffee, I did a double-take while passing this driveway. Makes you go, huh?

For drunks on their way home? A new type of garden gnome?

For drunks on their way home? A new type of garden gnome?

And finally I arrived at my destination. A lot has changed in the store. They now sell ice-cream cakes, and ice cream, and no longer bake my favorite bagel (onion). And the weird thing was the coffee did not taste quite right…but maybe it was a bad batch or it was too early in the morning, or my cold is interfering… not sure, I will have to experiment during my stay.

 

5 thoughts on “Spam, Toilet Gnomes, and Tim Hortons

  1. Who knew spam had anniversaries? and only you could come up with the phrase ‘toilet gnomes’ !! Welcome back to this side of the pond my international friend. Looking forward to talking soon! pj

  2. Well. Its soooo amazes me the shape and size of toilets in other countries. As you know, Amanda, I sell bathroom stuff in Sweden and our toilets are so much better in function and design than other countries. If for example Ifö http://www.ifo.se just started up in any European country (or Canada) it would be a smash hit. Anybody out there with connections? Let’s make some money.
    Have a good journey and report things like this. I love it. C

Leave a Reply

