Me Ole’ Stompin’ Grounds: Nova Scotia

I grew up in Halifax, Nova Scotia but left when I was 18 years old. I have not been back very often but my parents still live there. In fact, my mother will celebrate her 80th birthday in June and my dad just turned 89 in April. It is difficult to imagine being those ages, but I also find it difficult to imagine being my age so I guess it is all relative.

I am popping over the pond soon to visit my parents and have a wee break on Cape Breton Island. C and I visited in the fall of 2010 and we went to one of my most favourite places on the planet, Peggy’s Cove. I do prefer it when there are no other people, but the day we visited was gloriously calm, crisp and blue, so having people around was just hunky dorry.

I decided to give you just a teaser, a taste, of what Nova Scotia has to offer. Stay tuned for photos of my trip to Cape Breton.

Classic lobster traps at Peggy's Cove

Peggy's Cove

From Bayside looking at Cochran's Island (you can see it on Panoramio here

From Bayside looking at Cochran’s Island (you can see it on Panoramio

From Halifax to Peggy's Cove along the Prospect Bay Road. This is near Bayside and just after leaving Shad Bay.

From Halifax to Peggy’s Cove along the Prospect Bay Road. This is near Bayside and just after leaving Shad Bay.

On the way to Peggy's Cove on Prospect Road, somewhere near Long Canal Lake.

On the way to Peggy’s Cove on Prospect Road, somewhere near Long Canal Lake.Peggy's Cove

5 thoughts on “Me Ole’ Stompin’ Grounds: Nova Scotia

Leave a Reply

