I Have a Friend Named Rune. But He is No Stone.

Rune stones abound in the Uppsala region. In a recent blog post—Spring into Ekerö Rune Stones and Lambs—I thought I was searching for a rune stone because of the blue wooden house sign with an R on it. I was wrong. But not completely. Oh, and I do have a friend named Rune! But it is not pronounced the same as rune stone. Instead, it is like “rue-ne” with a roll of the r.

On the way home everyday I pass this sign. I finally stopped today to explore.

On the way home everyday I pass this sign. I finally stopped today to explore.

The Blue Sign Led Me to a Recent Rune Stone Discovery!

During some further research into what the blue sign with the “R” on it really indicates, I found an article just published on Friday about a discovery of another rune stone that connects to Ekerö. Is it possible that this is where it belongs? The article is in Swedish but I used Google to translate it into English.

After reading the article it is hard to tell if there is a direct connection. But it is still pretty cool that I finally visited this site just before they made this discovery.

I also finally found the origin of the sign. It is the Swedish National Heritage Board (Riksantikvarieämbetet).

This sign does not indicate specifically that there is a rune stone; it indicates there is an antiquity of some kind, in other words it is registered with Riksantikvarieämbetet.

And One Blue Sign Led to Another…

On the way back to the car I saw this notice nailed to the tree. It says "Antiquity. Protected by law"

On the way back to the car I saw this notice nailed to the tree. It says “Antiquity. Protected by law”

Finding out what the sign means is super cool because I found a way to search for all the types of antiquities from Riksantikvarieämbetet’s website. Go to http://www.fmis.raa.se/cocoon/fornsok/search.html. The database is of course, in Swedish.

After some digging (and thankfully having Google Translate), I figured out that the area where I was searching for a rune stone is more specifically bebyggelselämningar, that translates to settlement remains. The coordinates match (N 59° 17′ 2,23″, E 17° 43′ 50,01″).

The database also enables me to import a location file into Google Earth!  I love technology.

Stafsund is Ripe with Rs

Aril 2013

Aril 2013

I also told you about rune stone U18 on the farm where I live—Fallen Rune Stone. I used the database to have a look at the island of Ekerö. You can see on the map that Ekerö is awash with these registered antiquities. And I had to crop the image to make it slightly readable.

Ekerö antiguities

Even more fun is that Stavsund (or Stafsund) has several more “R” points of interest in addition to the rune stone.

Stafsund antiquities

2 thoughts on “I Have a Friend Named Rune. But He is No Stone.

  1. Very interesting Amanda.
    What did we ever do before the internet? Spend hours in the library and coins in the copy machine? or did we simply exist without ever knowing?
    Now thanks to the internet, I can discover ancient artifacts vicariously through my Swedish friend – how cool is that? 😀 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

