Smart Cards and Love Letters

I lost touch with LOML when I moved to London in the 80s. I got a beautiful love letter from him early on and I cherish it still. The next letter from him was not so wonderful. He told me he had married a friend to help her get a student loan.

London underground

London underground (Photo credit: @Doug88888)

There is another side story I will tell you regarding the second letter in a future post. But know that it was not exactly a surprise.

I cannot imagine, nor is it worth the agony to think too much about it, but if we had had Smart phones and text messages then…how would things have been different?

I thought of this a few minutes ago when I heard my phone whistle at me. There, waiting for me about a minute after leaving his phone, was an adorable photo of his year old son buying running shoes.

When I was 18 I left home and never went back. I just learned that LOML wanted to chase after me. I never knew. I would have gone back or ….nope. Cannot go there.

But I can go home even though it is way more complicated now.

3 thoughts on “Smart Cards and Love Letters

Leave a Reply

