Stockholm Archipelago – Sandhamn

I recently wrote about my need to retrain my brain. Over the years I have recognized that one useful jump-start to this progress is to get away, get out, go somewhere other than where you are. This weekend C and I decided to go to Sandhamn, an island only 0.27 km2 in size and in the Stockholm archipelago.  As an amateur photographer I like to see new places, even those places famous for being an island covered in sand. Oh! But did I mention? It is still winter here, so the sand is actually snow.

Waiting for the Ferry at Stavsnäs

Waiting for the ferry at Stävnas

The little ferry arrives at Stavsnäs. It takes about an hour to get to Sandhamn, with a couple of other stops in between.

The little ferry arrives at Stavsnäs. It takes about an hour to get to Sandhamn, with a couple of other stops in between.

 A photographer's dream is to have a random shot of someone so perfect...a Swedish fisherman.

A photographer’s dream is to have a random shot of someone so perfect…a Swedish fisherman.

 On the Way to Sandhamn

At Styrsvik you can see the ice is starting to break up in the Archipelago.

At Styrsvik you can see the ice is starting to break up in the Archipelago.

Sandhamn

The approach to Sandhamn

The approach to Sandhamn

Um. No t-bana (subway) here! In fact, no cars.

Um. No t-bana (subway) here! In fact, no cars.

I loved that there were lots of different colors for the houses. Usually everything is in yellow or burgundy/brick red. But here there seems to be variety.

Sandhamn

Wandering around the island

Lunch and a Bit o’ Art

At Sandhamn Värdhus. I had a fabulous lunch. At first I thought it was mustard..luckily it was a very tasty corn sauce on fried sej (fish) with pickled onion.

At Sandhamn Värdhus. I had a fabulous lunch. At first I thought it was mustard..luckily it was a very tasty corn sauce on fried sej (fish) with pickled onion.

For more information about Sandhamn and the photos:

PS. I do feel more energized. Retraining continues!

7 thoughts on “Stockholm Archipelago – Sandhamn

  1. Gorgeous photos! My husband has been traveling to Sweden on business for more than a decade (Gothenburg and Stenungsund). I hope to see it someday, as I’ve only seen photos. But I’d prefer to wait for summertime 😉

  2. Tack Gwen. I would love to go to Sandhamn in the summer, of course, but it is more likely that I will go to a new place now that I have been. There are many other islands to explore. I hope to bring some of these to this blog in time.

  3. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 02/19/13 « Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

  4. I greatly enjoyed taking this virtual jaunt. Many excellent shots of some very ‘cool’ scenes. Glad you could get away and am grateful you took us along.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

