Top 30 Movies to Distract You During the Holidays

I have been wasting time on Flickchart because I love love love movies. For most of my adult life, movie houses around the world have saved me, given me a place to shelter from the rain, racing thoughts, and the occasional stalker (just kidding). My adoration for the movie as an art form started in earnest in 1987. I am super embarrassed to tell you the movie, so I won’t. Guesses are permitted. It is not in my top 30 list.

The reason this post is tagged with mental health is because going to the movies has been a form of therapy for me. It opens my mind and heart to creativity and to world happenings. It distracts me. Until I moved to Sweden, I went to the movies almost every Friday, where I would get my M&M fix and a dose of fantasy, fun, or freaky. I can cry in private darkness, be incensed by human cruelty and softened by frailty and strength.

The list below changes constantly; it has been ranked and re-ranked and there are at least another 50 movies I want to include in my top 10. But since I am constrained by the algorithm of the ranking system (at least to begin with) this is close as I can get to being accurate. Movie watching and ranking is based on my mood. And I admit, I even had to tamper with Flickchart’s results because I don’t even agree with myself…

Take it for what it’s worth, a pretty decent set of movies you might enjoy over the holidays. Most of them you will have probably heard of or seen. Some you may enjoy if you are a little strange and like dark, quirky writing. Please note, that other than my number 1, this list is majorly Western. I think I will create a separate foreign language list another time as I don’t like to taint them with the big players (for example, Babette’s Feast, Tampopo,  Shall We Dance, and Ridicule…are all fantastic for wildly disparate reasons!)

  1. Amélie
  2. The Shawshank Redemption
  3. Gladiator
  4. L.A. Confidential
  5. Blood Diamond
  6. The Inglorious Basterds
  7. The Dark Knight
  8. Pulp Fiction
  9. Juno
  10. Being John Malkovich
  11. Batman Begins
  12. Se7en
  13. The Matrix
  14. Moulin Rouge
  15. Dead Poets Society
  16. Léon (The Professional)
  17. Finding Nemo
  18. Shallow Grave
  19. Kill Bill Vol. 1
  20. Crash (2004)
  21. The Power of One
  22. Go
  23. Smoke Signals
  24. The Red Violin
  25. Snatch
  26. Bound
  27. Babe
  28. American Beauty
  29. O Brother, Where Art Thou
  30. The Sixth Sense 

5 thoughts on “Top 30 Movies to Distract You During the Holidays

  1. What, no Terry Gilliam? I’d have to put ‘Brazil’ or ‘Time Bandits’ in their somewhere, for their dark humour and pure silliness juxtaposed with Deep Philosophical Thoughts. And Wim Wender’s ‘Wings of Desire’ (but not the silly Cage/Ryans Hollywood remake, of course). But glad to see a pre-Disney Pixar movie in there too.

  2. There is no need to be embarrassed for liking Spaceballs it is classic cinema. 😀
    That Flickchart is a very nice place to kill some time (man they sure do make a lot of movies.) Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

