NaNoWriMo Warmup

To do: Buy lots of chocolate, wine, coffee, and tea. Chop up firewood. Prepare meals in advance and place in freezer. Put LoveFilm on hold. Buy a laptop case to cart my Mac around. Read as many books in 27 days so I am inspired and itching to start writing. Prepare friends, family, and smartphone for disappearance, inattention, and short temper.

I went to a book reading a few weeks ago by Lori Behan (The Breast of Everything, http://loriberhon.com) and as always (almost) something more happened that moved me in a different direction−I learned that she is also a technical writer and about the existence of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) http://www.nanowrimo.org/.

For every day in November, a bunch of words might just be written down that in the future become something more. Even if the words do not become friendly with each other they are still counted. And perhaps like other art forms, even unrelated things can morph into something interesting.

This will be my first time doing something like this except for the creative writing class I took in (gulp) the 90s and the poetry I wrote as a young adult. I even had a couple of poems published in London, but that was really not related to talent or commitment, just their need for content.

Of course, I work on a daily basis with words, moving them from point A to point B, comparing them to a computer screen, moving them back again or editing the grammar. Occasionally at work I even do a little bit of real writing, but it is rare and often quite dull. I also sporadically write this blog (more and more since I moved to this wonderful platform), and recently did a little extra writing for ExpatArrivals. The emotional boat journey is moving in the right direction and this month long marathon is going to be a challenge. But you know what? I will be 45 years old in less than a week and although I always think of myself as creative, I have not truly put myself to the test.

Weeeee! Here we go!

 

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Warmup

  1. NaNoWriMo is so exciting! You just write, write, write, and write some more!!

    I also loved how you said that “Even if the words do not become friendly with each other they are still counted.” So true. Hopefully they aren’t mortal enemies that are chopped off in December, but with a little editing magic, work again 🙂

Leave a Reply

